Evan J. Smith
February 26, 2016

It was announced today that the Stewart-Haas NASCAR championship Sprint Cup Stock Car team, led by Tony Stewart, will switch to Ford cars and engines for 2017 season. Ford stated this is a multiyear agreement with Stewart-Haas Racing, which will compete with four entries, adding strength to the current Ford lineup.

“We are thrilled to be able to add a championship-level team like Stewart-Haas Racing to our Ford NASCAR program,” says Raj Nair, executive vice president and chief technical officer, Ford Motor Company. “Tony Stewart and Gene Haas have the same passion for winning that we do, and bring a strong stable of drivers and personnel that fit into what we’re trying to do in the sport.”

Stewart-Haas Ford Fusion race cars will hit the track at Daytona Speedweeks in February 2017. “We have said very clearly that we are not in NASCAR just to race, but to win races and championships,” says Dave Pericak, global director, Ford Performance. “We believe the addition of Stewart-Haas Racing in 2017 will give our program a major boost in terms of being in contention for both drivers’ and manufacturers’ championships every year.

“We believe that our NASCAR engineering experience and tools match up very well with the expertise and personnel that Stewart-Haas Racing has in house right now, and that we will both benefit from this partnership going forward.”

Ford’s current NASCAR lineup includes Team Penske, Roush Fenway Racing, Wood Brothers Racing, Richard Petty Motorsports, and Front Row Motorsports. It is well noted that Roush Yates Engines is supplier and technical engine partner for NASCAR Ford race engines.

Stewart-Haas Racing has proven to be a top contender week in and week out in NASCAR. The 2016 driver list includes Tony Stewart, Kevin Harvick, Danica Patrick, and Kurt Busch, although Stewart sat out the Daytona 500 with a back injury. Stewart, Harvick, and Busch have won Sprint Cup titles, and Patrick was a winner in the Indycar Series before transitioning to NASCAR. In total, Stewart-Haas Racing has recorded 30 points-paying wins, 26 poles, and two titles since its inception in 2009.

Clint Bowyer, who is consistently one of the most popular drivers in NASCAR, is slated to drive Stewart’s Number 14 in 2017. Stewart and Haas will remain co-owners of Stewart-Haas Racing.