Pete Epple Technical Editor
February 1, 2010
Photos By: Michael Galimi

Another NMRA season is in the record books. Incredible racing, fierce point battles, amazing car shows, fantastic spectator turn outs, and packed manufacturer midways made for an incredible scene at every stop on the 2009 NMRA Keystone Automotive Ford National Series tour. From the minute the first car went down the track at the season opener in Bradenton, Florida, everyone knew this was going to be an exciting year.

The 11th Annual Nitto Tires NMRA All-Ford World Finals, in Bowling Green, Kentucky, was the seventh and final points race on the 2009 NMRA series calendar. Racers rolled into Beech Bend Raceway, in Bowling Green, Kentucky, with more on the line than the previous six stops this year. Point battles came to a head, and in some classes, it took the final round to determine the '09 champions.

Turbonetics Pro Outlaw 10.5 always packs a lot of excitement into a few short days of racing. When the big boys of NMRA unloaded at Bowling Green, Dan Millen, Mike Murillo, and Conrad Scarry all came into the race with a mathematical chance to seal the championship.

As the qualifying rounds started shaping the field, Conrad Scarry found himself sitting at the top the ladder for Sunday elimination. This was the first pole position for Scarry and his new car in the '09 season. Once eliminations started, Millen set his sights on the championship. After a win in Round 1 over Justin Burcham, Millen sealed up the championship in Round 2. Although Millen got out of shape and Keith Neal was able to drive around him to take the win, Millen had accumulated enough points to seal the deal. The Final Round found Jim Brown and Keith Neal lining up, unfortunately, rain rolled in pushing final rounds back to Monday, and neither driver could stay to finish the show. After a coin toss, Brown was named the victor, and gained his first win of 2009.

The ProCharger Super Street Outlaw drivers put on an incredible show. Fourteen SSO cars came out to try and be the spoiler for John Urist's "drive-for-five" championship run. Chris Tuten qualified in the top spot with his turbocharged '87 Mustang. He laid down a solid 7.39-second e.t. at over 190 mph, while others fought to get down the track. Urist was among those trying to get a handle on the strip, and he qualified fifth with a 7.52, only making a full run in one of the late qualifying sessions. As Sunday eliminations got underway, it was the John Urist show, as the Albuquerque, New Mexico-native plowed through the competition on his way to the event win, and his fourth consecutive and fifth overall NMRA ProCharger Super Street Outlaw Championship!

In dramatic fashion, the DiabloSport EFI Renegade class was full of excitement. With a handful of drivers vying for the championship, it took the final round to decide who would wear the number "1" next season. Larry Hourcle of Alexandria, Virginia, came out strong in qualifying with his '88 Mustang, resetting the class record with an 8.32-second pass to become the top qualifier. Brian Mitchell, Alton Clements, Bart Tobener, and points leader Dan Rawls rounded out the top five. The second round of eliminations brought out the drama, as Clements drove around Rawls after a mechanical problem slowed his '90 Mustang at the 1,000-foot mark. This opened the door for Clements to take the championship from Rawls if he could go on to win the event. Clements raced his way into the finals where he lined up against Bob Cook. It was all Clements as he took the event win sealing up the championship in EFI Renegade.

Photo Gallery

View Photo Gallery