Huw Evans
September 1, 2008
Photos By: Keith Keplinger

True Street is always a big deal down in Texas, and well over 70 '79-and-newer Mustangs and Ford vehicles showed up to compete. The fastest of them all on Saturday belonged to William Calcote, who took the win in the Modified Mustangs & Fords True Street Quick 8.

In the Ultra 'Stang ranks, S.D. Wheeler was back in action and put in a superb weekend performance by winning the class when he took out Lloyd Mikeska. Texan Lupe Davilla and his hot SN95 Mustang were the winners out on the sizeable Mod Comp field, while in JDM Tough Truck, regulars Paul Gamino and Jim Roberts battled it out-with Gamino ultimately securing the victory.

Besides the hot on-track action, the vendor's midway was a good one, with plenty of great deals. The swap meet also drew plenty of attention. Despite current economic conditions, it was great to see a good turn-out of fans and car-show participants. When all was said and done, the '08 Texas Thunder Nationals was proof that no matter how things may be at home, there's always time to enjoy cars and go racin.'

FFW Houston '08 Official Results
Performance Two-Way Street Outlaw
Winner: Grant McCrary, 6.882 at 21.66
Runner Up: Conrad Scarry, 8.831 at 119.50

Procharger Renegade
Winner: Angel Padilla, 8.100 at 179.09
Runner Up: Richard Lelsz, 10.955 at 88.32

Borla Street Bandit
Winner: Brian Warwas, 10.671 at 122.42
Runner Up: Gary Miller, 10.628 at 125.53

Harland Sharp Mod Comp
Winner: Lupe Davila, 12.263 at 93.78
Runner Up: Michael Sulzbach, 14.068 at 99.28

RPM Outlet Ultra 'Stang
Winner: S.D. Wheeler 11.310 at 124.91
Runner Up: Lloyd Mikeska 13.190 at 101.14

Saleen Speedlab Street 'Stang
Winner: James Meredith, 12.16 at 105.01
Runner Up: Cliff Nelson, 12.36 at 116.00

JDM Tough Truck
Winner: Paul Gamino, 13.477 at 89.48
Runner Up: Jim Roberts, 16.439 at 86.18

Modified Mustangs & Fords True Street Quick 8
Winner: William Calcote, 10.345 at 131.48
Runner Up: Jason Roberts, 10.631 at 128.52

Bracket Classes
Fast Ford
Winner (Saturday): Chris Josey
Winner (Sunday): Daryl Patton

Quick Ford
Winner (Saturday): Carl Bieber
Winner (Sunday): Lawrence Lohr

Street Ford
Winner (Saturday): Joseph Chadwick
Winner (Sunday): James Green